Site Criteria

  • The practice site must meet all standards set by appropriate governmental, regulatory, and accrediting agencies, ACPE and the State of NY or state of license registration.
  • The practice site must have a signed affiliation agreement with Touro College of Pharmacy.
  • The individual who serves as the primary preceptor must meet the Preceptor requirements and guidelines.

ACPE Accreditation Standards Section 28.3

The college or school must identify a diverse mixture of sites for required and elective pharmacy practice experiences. In general, each site used for required pharmacy practice experiences should have the following characteristics:

  • meets or exceeds all legal and professional standards required to provide patient care
  • has a patient population that exhibits diversity in culture, medical conditions, gender, and age, where appropriate
  • has an adequate patient population based on the learning objectives for the course
  • has access to learning and information resources
  • has management that is supportive of professional staff involvement in the education of pharmacy students
  • has a practice environment that nurtures and supports pharmacist and student interactions with patients
  • provides daily contact with the preceptor or a qualified designee to ensure that students receive feedback and have opportunities to ask questions
  • is adequately equipped with the technology needed to support student training and to reflect contemporary practice
  • provides medication therapy management and patient care services for diverse populations
  • has adequate professional staff and supportive technical and clerical staff to meet the learning objectives and to provide for optimum time for preceptor and student interaction
  • provides educational workshops for patients and other health care providers
  • serves as an accredited site for training of pharmacy residents
  • has collaborative professional and/or training relationships with other health care providers

 

Site Listings

Community Pharmacy Partners
CVS –  www.cvs.com
Duane Reade –  www.duanereade.com
Rite Aid – www.riteaid.com
Target – www.target.com
Walgreens –  www.walgreens.com
Zive –  www.zivepharmacy.com
Pathmark – www.pathmark.com
The Drug Shoppe – www.thedrugshoppe.com
Malcolm Pharmacy

Institution Pharmacy Partners
Harlem Hospital, New York, NY –  www.nyc.gov/html/hhc/html/facilities/harlem.shtml
Lawrence Hospital, Bronxville, NY – www.lawrencehealth.org/
Metropolitan Hospital, New York, NY – www.nyc.gov/html/hhc/html/facilities/metropolitan.shtml
Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, NY – www.montefiore.org
North Central Bronx, Bronx, NY –  www.nyc.gov/html/hhc/html/…/northcentralbronx.shtml
Richmond University Medical Center, Staten Island, NY – www.rumcsi.org
Beth Israel Medical Center – www.wehealny.org
The Brooklyn Hospital Center – www.tbh.org
Dobbs Ferry Pavilion – www.riversidehealth.org
Lincoln Medical Center – www.nyc.gov/html/hhc/lincoln
North Shore LIJ – Forest Hills Hospital – www.northshorelij.com/NSLIJ/Forest+Hills+Hospital
Nyack Hospital – www.nyackhospital.org
Parker Jewish Institute – www.parkerinstitute.org
St. Lukes Roosevelt Hospital Center – www.wehealny.org
Mt. Sinai Hospital – Queens – www.mshq.org

Community Agency and Political Partners
American Heart Association – www.americanheart.org
American Diabetes Association – www.diabetes.org
New York City Department of Mental Health and Hygeine – www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/home/home.shtml
Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families (STEPS) – www.egscf.org
Harlem Health Promotion Center – www.healthyharlem.org
Manhattan-Staten Island Area Health Education Center (AHEC) – www.msiahec.org
NY Senator Charles Schumer Office Schumer.senate.gov
NYCRx – www.nycrx.org
New York Academy of Medicine – www.nyam.org
Ralph Lauren Center for Cancer Care and Prevention – www.ralphlaurencenter.org
WE ACT for Environmental Justice – www.weact.org
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services – www.cms.gov
Columbia School of Public Health – www.mailman.columbia.edu
Fidelis Care – www.fideliscare.org
Harlem United – www.harlemunited.org
HealthFirst – www.healthfirstny.org
Iris House – www.irishouse.org
Medicare Rights Center – www.medicarerights.org
Public Health Association of New York City – www.phanyc.org

Specialized Partners
Geritrex – www.geritrex.com
HM Compounding – www.hmcompound.com
MedWorld Pharmacy – www.medworld.com
MPR – www.empr.com
PRI Healthcare Solutions – www.prihcs.com
Shore Pharmaceuticals – www.omnicare.com
Stonebridge Medical
Town Total Health – www.towntotal.com
Visiting Nurse Service – www.vnsny.org